Community Foundation Announces New Board Leadership

Key Largo Resident Laura Lietaert Named First Upper Keys Board Chair

Robyn Still and Isis Wright Elected to Board.

The Community Foundation of the Florida Keys today announced significant changes to its Board of Governors, marking a milestone in its 27-year history. Laura Lietaert, principal of Coral Shores High School, will become the organization’s first board chair from north of the Seven Mile Bridge, effective July 1. Additionally, business owners Robyn Still of Marathon and Isis Wright of Key Largo have been elected to three-year terms on the board.


Lietaert, a Key Largo resident and experienced educator, brings a wealth of community leadership experience to her new role as board chair. “I’m honored to lead the Community Foundation into its next phase of growth,” she said. “Our goal is to continue expanding our impact across all of the Florida Keys, addressing the unique needs of each community.”


The Board is responsible for the organization’s efforts countywide including managing 226 charitable funds totaling over $30 million and making grants exceeding $1.5 million annually to support Florida Keys nonprofits. 


Lietaert is principal of Coral Shores High School where she was named Monroe County School District “Principal of the Year” in 2023, after receiving the same award at Key Largo School in 2018. She currently chairs Monroe County’s Human Services Advisory Board which annually grants over $2 million to local nonprofits. She served two terms as president of the Rotary Club of Key Largo and is active in The Upper Keys Business and Professional Women, Key Largo Chamber of Commerce, and the Islamorada Chamber of Commerce. Lietaert was the Community Foundation’s first board member from Key Largo when she joined in 2020 and served as chair of the Foundation’s Upper Keys Advisory Council for two years.

Robyn Still serves on the Community Foundation’s Middle Keys Advisory Council. She and her husband, Chris, own The Tackle Box, a bait and tackle store in Marathon. Currently the Mayor of Marathon, Still has been a resident of the Keys since 2016, moving from north Georgia after a 20-year career in law enforcement. She holds several community leadership positions, including past chair of the Greater Marathon Chamber of Commerce, board member of the Rotary Club of Marathon, advisory board member for the Domestic Abuse Shelter, and member of Zonta. She is a graduate of Leadership Monroe County and a mentor for Take Stock in Children.

Wright has been an inaugural member of the Community Foundation’s Upper Keys Advisory Council since 2021, serving as council chair since 2022. With over 20 years of professional experience in business development and marketing, Wright recently launched two Keys-based brands: B. Ready, a travel and leisure wellness online marketplace, and Italian Food Company, an authentic Neapolitan pizzeria. She is a board member of the Islamorada Chamber of Commerce and has served with the Rotary Club of Key Largo, Rotary Interact, and Junior Achievement. Wright holds an MBA from the University of Miami and is a graduate of Leadership Miami.

“Laura Lietaert has an in-depth understanding of the needs of our residents, having graduated from Coral Shores, raised her own family here, and worked for the school system for three decades,” said Community Foundation board president and CEO Jennifer McComb. “With the addition of Robyn Still and Isis Wright, our board now better represents the geographic diversity of the Keys. This aligns perfectly with our strategic goal of becoming a truly countywide organization.”

Other Community Foundation board members are Andrea Spottswood (treasurer and finance chair), Jodi Weinhofer (secretary), Marian Buccafurni (investment and grants chair), Bobby Highsmith (governance chair), Warren Leamard (development chair), Larry Nolt, and Ken Silverman. Will Langley and Ron Burd will transition to advisory roles after completing their nine-year terms of service.

Subscribe to Our

Captcha Newsletter