Key Largo Principal Laura Lietaert Joins CFFK Board

CFFK has appointed Key Largo School Principal Laura Lietaert to its Board of Governors. Laura is CFFK’s first board member from Key Largo and joins the nonprofit’s governing board for a three-year term.

“Laura brings numerous skills and a deep knowledge of the community to our board,” says CFFK Chair Dr. Susanne Woods. “Her experience in planning and fund raising will be big assets as we continue to develop CFFK’s ability to serve the Keys. Laura also offers crucial leadership in our ongoing efforts to broaden outreach and philanthropy in the Upper Keys.”

Laura has spent her career in education, both as a teacher and administrator. Starting at Key Largo School as a teacher in 1994, she has been the Principal of the K through 8th grade school for the past five years. She was named Monroe County School District “Principal of the Year” two years ago, among numerous honors and committee appointments.

‘I am thrilled to join the board of the Community Foundation,” says Laura. “This community is my passion and I’m excited to help build awareness and philanthropy in the Upper Keys.”

In addition to her work in education, Laura is a dedicated Upper Keys civic leader. She currently serves as Board President of the Rotary Club of Key Largo and was named “Rotarian of the Year” in 2017. She is active in The Upper Keys Business and Professional Women, Key Largo Chamber of Commerce, Islamorada Chamber of Commerce, and is a former board member of Kids Come First. She has reviewed grants for United Way of the Florida Keys and recently served on a special grants committee for the Landau Family COVID-19 Food Fund for the Upper Keys at CFFK. Laura received her B.S. degree from Florida International University and her M.E. degree from the American College of Education.

For more information about all the board members, click here.

Subscribe to Our

Captcha Newsletter